Cambodia Records 15.2 pct Export Growth in First 4 Months

A crane truck lifts a container at the Hong Leng Huor Dry Port on the western suburb of Phnom Penh, Cambodia on Jan. 13, 2022. Photo by Phearum/Xinhua

PHNOM PENH -- Cambodia exported products worth 8 billion U.S. dollars in the first four months of 2024, up 15.2 percent from 6.94 billion dollars over the same period last year, said a General Department of Customs and Excise's report released on Friday.

Major exported products included garment, footwear, and travel goods, bicycles, and potential agricultural produce such as rice, rubber, cassava, bananas, mangoes, and longans, the report said.

The top five export destinations for the Southeast Asian nation are the United States, Vietnam, China, Japan, and Thailand, the report added.

Meanwhile, the kingdom reported a total import of 8.66 billion dollars during the January-April period this year, up 9.3 percent from 7.92 billion dollars over the same period last year, the report said.

Key imported goods included petroleum, raw materials for garment, footwear and travel goods, vehicles, machinery, electronic appliances, and consuming products, among others, it added.

Cambodian Ministry of Commerce's Secretary of State and Spokesperson Penn Sovicheat said the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) agreement and the Cambodia-China Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA) had added strong momentum to the country's trade growth.

"Both RCEP and CCFTA have served as catalysts for our long-term and sustainable trade growth and the two trade pacts are also a magnet to attract more foreign direct investments to Cambodia," he told Xinhua.

"With preferential tariffs provided by RCEP and CCFTA, our trade growth will undoubtedly continue to rise throughout this year and beyond," he added.

The RCEP comprises 15 Asia-Pacific countries including 10 ASEAN member states - Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, and their five trading partners, namely China, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand.

Related Articles